National Poetry Month: Poetry for Young Readers

Poetry isn’t just for adults, kids can enjoy poems too! Here are just a few of our poetry picks for young readers.

Noisy Poems for a Busy Day by Robert Heidbreder & Lori Joy Smith

Title details for Noisy Poems for a Busy Day by Robert Heidbreder - Available

Chock-full of playful pocket-sized poems that capture adventures big and small in a child’s day, this collection begs to be read aloud from sunup to sundown!

Check out the ebook

 

 

 

 

The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary by Laura Shovan

Title details for The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary by Laura Shovan - AvailableAn award-winning, big-hearted time capsule of one class’s poems during a transformative school year. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli.

Eighteen kids,
one year of poems,
one school set to close.
Two yellow bulldozers
crouched outside,
ready to eat the building
in one greedy gulp.

But look out, bulldozers.
Ms. Hill’s fifth-grade class
has plans for you.
They’re going to speak up
and work together
to save their school.

Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it.

Check out the ebook

In the Middle of the Night by Laura Purdie Salas

What happens when you fall fast asleep? The objects in and around your house wake up and play! These 26 imaginative poems reveal the secret adventures that take place around you as you dream and will make you think of your boot, your basketball, and even your spaghetti in a whole new way.

Put this book on hold

 

 

 

 

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhhà Lai

Title details for Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhhà Lai - Wait list

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award!

Inspired by the author’s childhood experience as a refugee—fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama—this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child’s-eye view of family and immigration.

Hà has only ever known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope—toward America.

This moving story of one girl’s year of change, dreams, grief, and healing received four starred reviews, including one from Kirkus which proclaimed it “enlightening, poignant, and unexpectedly funny.”

An author’s note explains how and why Thanhha Lai translated her personal experiences into Hà’s story. This updated digital edition also includes an interview with the author, an activity you can do with your family, tips on writing poetry, and discussion questions.

Check out the ebook

Put this book on hold

One Last Word by Nikki Grimes

Title details for One Last Word by Nikki Grimes - Available

From the New York Times bestselling and Coretta Scott King award-winning author Nikki Grimes comes an emotional, special new collection of poetry inspired by the Harlem Renaissance—paired with full-color, original art from today’s most exciting African-American illustrators.

Inspired by the writers of the Harlem Renaissance, bestselling author Nikki Grimes uses “The Golden Shovel” poetic method to create wholly original poems based on the works of master poets like Langston Hughes, Georgia Douglas Johnson, Jean Toomer, and others who enriched history during this era.

Each poem is paired with one-of-a-kind art from today’s most exciting African American illustrators—including Pat Cummings, Brian Pinkney, Sean Qualls, James Ransome, Javaka Steptoe, and many more—to create an emotional and thought-provoking book with timely themes for today’s readers.

A foreword, an introduction to the history of the Harlem Renaissance, author’s note, poet biographies, and index makes this not only a book to cherish, but a wonderful resource and reference as well.

Check out the ebook

Put this book on hold

The Proper Way to Meet a Hedgehog by Richard Jones

A collection of poems acts as a whimsical instruction manual to feats both practical and fanciful, including how to mix a pancake, how to make a snow angel, how to be a mole, and how to build a poem.

Put this book on hold

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga

Title details for Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga - Available

New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Check out the ebook

Put this book on hold

Mirror mirror by Marilyn Singer

A collection of short poems which, when reversed, provide new perspectives on the fairy tale characters they feature.

Put this book on hold

 

 

 

 

Share It !
 

New Nonfiction April 2022

You, happier : the 7 neuroscience secrets of feeling good based on your brain type 152.4 AMEN, DANIEL
The art of talking with children 155.4 ROLLAND, REBECCA
How to Get Your Act Together 305 HASSAN, FELICITY
The teen interpreter 306.87 APTER, TERRI
Wise up 306.87 DUFFY, KAREN
The COVID-19 pandemic 616.2 HILLSTROM, LAURIE
Trauma and the 12 steps : 616.85 MARICH, JAMIE
The First-Time Gardener Raised Bed Gardening. 635 CALIKIM
Indoor cat 636.8 MOSS, LAURA
The simple comforts step-by-step Instant Pot cookbook 641.5 EISNER, JEFFREY
Korean American 641.59 KIM, ERIC
Sewing machine basics for children 646.2 PRESSLEY, ANGELA
Playmakers : how the NFL really works (and doesn’t) 796.33 FLORIO, MIKE
Idiots 814 CLERY, LAURA
Growing up Biden : a memoir 92 BIDEN OWENS, VALERIE
Jill : a biography of the First Lady 92 BIDEN, JILL
Stalking the atomic city 947.7 KAMYSH, MARKIYAN

 

Idea makers YNF 305 SICHOL, LOWEY
The race of the century : the battle to break the four-minute mile YNF 796.42 BASCOMB, NEAL
Messy roots : a graphic memoir of a Wuhanese American YNF 92 GAO, LAURA
Share It !
 

New YA Fiction April 2022

The deep blue between YA ATTAH, AYESHA
All that’s left in the world YA BROWN, ERIK
I am Margaret Moore YA CAPIN, HANNAH
Reclaim the stars : 17 tales across realms & space YA CORDOVA, ZORAIDA
My dearest darkest YA COTTINGHAM, KAYLA
A million quiet revolutions YA GOW, ROBIN
Stone cold YA HUMPHERYS, SARAH
Wrong Side of the Court YA KHAN, H.N.
Remember me YA LAURE, ESTELLE
A magic steeped in poison YA LIN, JUDY
So this is ever after YA LUKENS, F.T.
Anything but fine YA MADDEN, TOBIAS
This woven kingdom YA MAFI, TAHEREH
Message not found YA MEDEMA, DANTE
Live, laugh, kidnap YA NOONE, GABBY
A forgery of roses YA OLSON, JESSICA
Forward march YA QUINLAN, SKYE
Practical demonology YA REES, CLARE
The book of living secrets YA ROUX, MADELEINE
Why would I lie? YA RULE, ADI
The words we keep YA STEWART, ERIN
Sofi and the bone song YA TOOLEY, ADRIENNE
The most dazzling girl in Berlin YA WILSON, KIP
Right where I left you YA WINTERS, JULIAN
Mountain runaways YA WITHERS, PAM
Boys of the beast YA ZEPEDA, MONICA
Share It !
 

New Fiction April 2022

Boss witch F AGUIRRE, ANN
Everything we didn’t say F BAART, NICOLE
Dream town F BALDACCI, DAVID
When we were birds F BANWO, AYANNA
How strange a season F BERGMAN, MEGAN
Last dance on the starlight pier F BIRD, SARAH
Island of time F BUNN, DAVIS
Don’t know tough F CRANOR, ELI
Reputation F CROUCHER, LEX
Comeuppance served cold F DEEDS, MARION
A relative murder F DEVERAUX, JUDE
The temps F DEYOUNG, ANDREW
Lost and found in Paris F DOLAN, LIAN
The candy house F EGAN, JENNIFER
The Titanic sisters F FALVEY, PATRICIA
Out there F FOLK, KATE
School days F GALASSI, JONATHAN
Lessons in chemistry F GARMUS, BONNIE
Shadows of Berlin F GILLHAM, DAVID
Let’s not do that again F GINDER, GRANT
The woman in red F GIOVINAZZO, DIANA
The prophet’s wife F GRANT, LIBBIE
Death by chocolate chip cupcake F GRAVES, SARAH
Sister stardust F GREEN, JANE
Mrs. England F HALLS, STACEY
When blood lies F HARRIS, C.S.
The catch F HARRIS, LISA
Unlikely animals F HARTNETT, ANNIE
The wedding veil F HARVEY, KRISTY
The younger wife F HEPWORTH, SALLY
The sacred bridge F HILLERMAN, ANNE
A light beyond the trenches F HLAD, ALAN
The echo man F HOLLAND, SAM
How to be a wallflower F JAMES, ELOISA
Give unto others F LEON, DONNA
The missing piece F LESCROART, JOHN
Portrait of a thief F LI, GRACE
Animal person F MACLEOD, ALEXANDER
Sherlock Holmes: the back to front murder F MAJOR, TIM
Sea of Tranquility F MANDEL, EMILY
The wedding on Sunshine Corner F MILLS, PHOEBE
The echoes F MONTGOMERY, JESS
Panpocalypse F MOORE, CARLEY
The bone orchard F MUELLER, SARA
True biz F NOVIC, SARA
Under lock & skeleton key F PANDIAN, GIGI
Death of the black widow F PATTERSON, JAMES
Take my hand F PERKINS-VALDEZ, DOLEN
Three debts paid F PERRY, ANNE
In a garden burning gold F POWER, RORY
Once a thief F REICH, CHRISTOPHER
Cover story F RIGETTI, SUSAN
A duke, the spy, an artist, and a lie F RILEY, VANESSA
A deadly bone to pick F ROTHSCHILD, PEGGY
The investigator F SANDFORD, JOHN
What happened to the Bennetts F SCOTTOLINE, LISA
One last chance F SIGER, JEFFREY
The patron saint of second chances F SIMON, CHRISTINE
At least you have your health F SINHA, MADI
The Baba Yaga Mask F SPISAK, KRIS
The resting place F STEN, CAMILLA
Young Mungo F STUART, DOUGLAS
Nine lives F SWANSON, PETER
Summer at the Cape F THAYNE, RAEANNE
Nobody but us F VAN RENSBURG, LAURE
The lifeguards F WARD, AMANDA
To marry and to meddle F WATERS, MARTHA
Roots of wood and stone F WEN, AMANDA
Home or away F WEST, KATHLEEN
Four treasures of the sky F ZHANG, JENNY
Share It !