Book Review: Lumberjanes Vol 1

Lumberjanes: Volume 1

A Review by Kendra Ellison

I have been wanting read Lumberjanes:Volume 1 for a while now. Since being busy with life I have not been able to read as much as I would like. I have been sticking with audiobooks on my commute and graphic novel since they can be a quick read. Lumberjanes series is just that. Fast-paced story full of adventure and friendship.

Lumberjanes is about a group of five girls (Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley) at summer camp that faces supernatural obstacles often times with their counselor. Each of the girls have their strengths to overcome these obstacles that tests their friendship and commitment to be a Lumberjane.

At first, I thought this would be a modern coming-of-age summer camp adventure, but I did not expect the supernatural elements added to the stories. Reading the graphic novel is enjoyable read during my downtime. My favorite character of the series is April. She maybe small, but is strong. Never underestimate when she and her friends are in danger she is a fierce protector not to mention competitive. I do not want to give away too much detail, but if had to guess I have feeling that the supernatural elements of the story leads to a bigger picture toward the end of the series. Even though this is a twenty book series, you will read through them quickly that it won’t feel like that long of a series. I recommend the Lumberjanes: Volume 1 if you like to read about friendship, adventure, and the supernatural then this would be for you. If you are looking to read something different from what you normally read or need to read something fun then I would highly recommend! I am currently reading Lumberjanes: Volume 4. It definitely snapped me out of the reading slump (for now)!

 

Put Lumberjanes of hold today!

Books like Lumberjanes:

22504701. sy475 51323376The Okay Witch (The Okay Witch, #1)44774415. sy475 4514375954303297

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson The Tea Dragon Tapestry by Kay O’Neill / The Okay Witch by Emma Steinkellner / Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker / Diana: Princess of the Amazons / Secrets of Camp Whatever: Volume 1 by Chris Grine

Share It !
 

Teen Book Review: You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle

You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle

A Book Review by Mina Nguyen

 

            You Deserve Each Other is a hilarious, lovers-to-enemies-to-lovers, second-chance contemporary romance. Naomi Westfield, the main character, has been dreading getting married to Nicholas Rose for the last couple of months now. What started off as a great relationship- full of butterflies and loving stares- has started to become sour, especially after Nicholas Rose seems to value his mom’s opinion over Naomi’s and especially when his mom gets flowers every week while Naomi gets nothing. Naomi thinks she’s doing great at pretending to be the perfect fiance, but apparently Nicholas has noticed her unenthusiastic nature for quite a while. Once Naomi becomes aware of this, Naomi devises a plan to get him to break off the marriage, so she isn’t stuck paying for the nonrefundable wedding bill, which starts a series of pranks and sabotage from both Naomi and Nicholas. As the wedding day looms closer, Naomi finds herself willing to give Nicholas a second chance since both have nothing to lose since they’re finally being themselves.

This and The People We Meet on Vacation are my favorite contemporary romances. Even though I would categorize this as a winter holiday read, I read it all year round. I think I’ve read this book five times, and I’ve loved it every single time. You Deserve Each Other had me laughing and giggling. The pranks were super funny and extremely entertaining to read. This was a funny book! The tension between the characters was also super good. I also enjoyed the pacing and the timeline of the book. Usually, I find that a lot of romances have characters say “I love you” way too soon, but this had enough of a relationship development that it felt natural; it didn’t feel rushed or out of nature for the characters since they had already been in a rocky relationship prior. I absolutely hate the miscommunication trope in books, but this did a great job of explaining the mindset where both characters were able to figure it out before it became a huge problem; they confronted each other before it got into a bigger issue than it needed to be. One of the best written miscommunication tropes because it was extremely realistic and not blown out of proportion. I loved how the characters recognized their own faults and were able to fix it without being passive aggressive.

I recommend this book to anyone because it’s that good of a read. I also think that non-romance readers would also enjoy it since it’s not too sappy and extremely funny. It’s definitely an easy read, and it does a great job of reforming the relationship between Naomi and Nicholas. You could tell there was a lot of character development for the both of them in order to relearn how to be themselves around their significant other. The ending was absolutely perfect; I will never stop raving about this book. This is definitely a great rom-com read if you’re in need of an extra boost of serotonin.

 

Read Alikes:

Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren / The Hating Game by Sally Thorne / The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang / The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas / People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry / Beach Read by Emily Henry

Put You Deserve Each Other on hold here

Share It !
 

Teen Book Review: She Gets the Girl

She Gets the Girl Book Review

Review by Molly Fitzgerald

 

“She Gets the Girl” by Rachael Lippincott and Alyson Derrick is a young adult coming of age story with some romance. This book caught my eye because of the cover. I thought the cover was pretty, and when I picked up the book, the plot intrigued me. A plus to this book is that it is a quick read; I finished it within a couple hours.

 

College freshmen, Alex Blackwood and Molly Parker should not be friends, they shouldn’t even be in the same world. Alex came from the city, and Molly lived her whole life in a small town. Alex is a flirt, and can get anyone she wants. Molly, on the other hand, can’t talk to anyone to save her life. After a breakup, Alex learns about Molly’s secret crush and hatches a plan. If she can get Molly, the most awkward person she knows, a date, she can prove that she is more than just a selfish flirt to her ex. Even though Molly doesn’t think she can trust Alex, she finds herself agreeing. Alex knows what she’s doing and she does not.

 

While they both navigate through college and finding out who they truly want to be in life without the pressure from family and peers. They figure out that they can’t fit other people’s idea of them without being unhappy. They find themselves straying from the 5-step plan Alex orchestrated, and start falling for each other.

 

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romantic comedies and an easy read. This book also talks about accepting yourself and finding other people who will like you for how you are. Romance is the main focus, while they grow as people and self-discovery is what I would call the message of the book. Like I stated earlier, I finished it in a day, but the plot isn’t super fast paced.

 

Books like this:

Delilah Green Doesn’t Care by Ashley Herring Blake / She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen / I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre

Put She Gets the Girl on hold here.

Share It !
 

Teen Book Review: My Mechanical Romance by Alexene Farol Follmuth

My Mechanical Romance by Alexene Farol Follmuth

A Book Review by Mina Nguyen

 

Bel, the main character, is like any high school student: a procrastinator. She’s unorganized and a tad bit irresponsible but that hasn’t deterred her from doing things last minute. When Bel forgets to build a catapult for her Physics class, she’s forced to go scrounge around for last-minute materials a couple of minutes before class. Miraculously, her catapult works extremely well (for a last minute diy project), leading her Physics teacher to push her to transfer to an AP Physics class where she’ll be challenged. Along with transferring to AP Physics, her former teacher also encourages Bel to try out for the robotics team; however, Bel doesn’t think robotics is her thing. When she tries out, the team captain Mateo believes that she may be a good asset, except that she’s never had any experience, causing the only other girl on the team to ignore her. In order to prove her position on the team, Bel secretly meets up with Mateo. As the after-school work sessions grow longer, Bel and Mateo realize they do make a good team, a good enough team that may win the national championship. And maybe Bel does have a talent for robotics and maybe girls do belong in STEM.

While this book is categorized as romance, it discusses a lot more topics besides romance. A topic this book discusses, besides romance, is the sudden rivalry between women in STEM and hesitation of whether women are “up” to the task. Whether people realize it or not, there is a large stigma around women being in STEM, especially when women have to compete among other women. This book perfectly addresses the feeling of feeling worthy to participate in once-male-dominated fields and finding women within those fields who don’t feel like competition. This book is also extremely relatable, making the character lovable. Bel, is a procrastinator, like most high school students, so she constantly refuses to finish her Common Application because it feels like she’ll have to finally grow up. A lot of teens look towards the idea of growing up to be a good thing, but Bel describes the feeling of having to grow up as a death sentence since society forces young adults to know their future step-by-step. Most contemporary books also feature the main character studying all their lives and ending up exactly at the college they want to go to, which is sometimes unrealistic. I love that Bel did have an ideal school she wanted to attend but didn’t make it end, allowing Bel to look for other options and being perfectly fine with not attending her dream school; it shows how realistic lives are for most teens applying to college.

Besides those topics, the romance was good. It was cute and accurate to most teenage relationships with ups and downs, especially when they have busy schedules and are on the same team.If this were to fall under a trope, it starts off as academic rivals but their relationship progresses naturally where you don’t even realize that they’re no longer academic rivals. I also appreciated how the two main characters are people of color, which is rare in contemporary romance. The author clearly did research in the two different cultures and respected each ethnicity’s customs and traditions and portrayed it accurately. Besides the romantic relationships, the friendships were extremely well done. The side characters had personality and came from all different backgrounds with each being well researched; each person had their own side story with their own relationships and development.

My Mechanical Romance is a dual point-of-view, contemporary romance, STEM, friends-to-lovers young adult book. As a person not interested in robotics, the author made it easy to understand and follow the mechanics. The camaraderie within the book is super fun and all the relationships, even the side characters, are extremely well-developed. The research for all the characters’ cultures and customs were accurately and beautifully done. This is an extremely cute book and every young adult reader would definitely enjoy it.

 

Read-Alikes:

A Show for Two by Tashie Bhuiyan /  A Show for Two by Tashie Bhuiyan / Geekerella by Ashley PostonAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz /  Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

Put My Mechanical Romance on hold here

Share It !