Melissa Haney

Position : Circulation Librarian

  1. When did you start at APL? I have been at the APL since August 10, 2015.
  1. What’s your favorite thing about APL? My favorite thing about APL is when the kids get overly excited about the books they check out.
  1. What is your favorite book and why? My favorite book is Mere Christianity because I love theology and C.S. Lewis is a wonderful author (my favorite too).
  1. Do you have any other book or author recommendations? For kiddos, I recommend any of the “Hank, the Cow Dog” series or “The Series of Unfortunate Events”. For Adults, I recommend any other book by C.S. Lewis or “The Undercover Economist” by Tim Harford
  1. Do you have any hobbies? (Besides reading?) Being a full time student and working does not leave me much time for hobbies but if I had the time I would practice the guitar more and get back into sports.
  1. If you weren’t a librarian, what would you be? If I weren’t a librarian, I would be a counselor at Portantorchas in Costa Rica.
  1. What’s your favorite food? My favorite food is everything that is served for Thanksgiving. (aka, I don’t have a favorite, I just like food)
  1. What is the funniest experience you’ve ever had at the library? The funniest experience I have ever had at a library is at the last library I worked at, I was making funny faces and sounds to my coworker (I don’t know why) and a cute guy walked up and just laughed at me… I was so embarrassed it hurt but it was still hilarious.
  1. What does your dream library look like? My dream library is a two story building with the children’s library on the bottom floor because even though I love children, I like it quiet when I pick out/read books and I’m sure others do as well. I would want all the stacks to be short in height do I can see everything and I would want all the books to be completely straight on the stacks. There would also be soft instrumental music playing in the background.
  1. Talk about other stuff you like (movies, TV, music, games, etc.) Some other things I like are the Spanish culture and learning the language, having fun with my niece and nephew, going to church, playing cards, and listening to different types of music.