This year’s NEA Big Read: Wichita title is Lab Girl by Hope Jahren.

Lab Girl is a nature lover’s story about digging in dirt and discovering new things about old growth. It’s a scientist’s story about running experiments and waiting and wondering and asking for funds and fending off doubt. It’s a Midwesterner’s story of moving south and east and west and noticing the differences. It’s a girl’s story about growing up to be what she wants to be. And it’s a woman’s story about fighting stereotypes, sacrificing, feeling vulnerable, trusting in friendship, getting sick, getting help, finding love, and writing it all down. (via NEA Big Read: Wichita)

While you’re waiting for your copy of Lab Girl to come in, check out one of these read-alike titles sure to please science-lovers and plant-enthusiasts alike, no green thumb necessary.

10032672

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

7247854._SY475_

The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World From the Periodic Table of the Elements by Sam Kean

12262741._SY475_ (1)

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

17465453._SY475_ (1)

The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert

6723017._SY475_

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

44153387 (1)

The Feather Thief by Kirk Wallace Johnson

16093267

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

27276357._SY475_

The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

22609521._SY475_ (1)

The Reason for Flowers: Their History, Culture, Biology, and How They Change Our Lives by Stephen Buchmann

40725379._SY475_

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

18089945

A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants by Ruth Kassinger [eBook]

69724 (1)

My Garden (Book) by Jamaica Kincaid

38236861 (1)

Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver

824122._SY475_

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

18803640._SY475_ (1)

H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

23995249

The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World by Andrea Wulf

39967091

Enchantress of Numbers: A Novel of Ada Lovelace by Jennifer Chiaverini

Share It !

Related Posts

New E-Books and...
New YA Fiction ...
New Fiction –...

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.